France wins FIFA World Cup 2018

 1,393 total views,  1 views today

France has won the FIFA World Cup 2018 tournament in Russia.

This follows a 4-2 victory over Croatia during an awe-inspiring match at the Luzhniki Stadium on Sunday.

France took the lead after an own goal by Mandzukic in the 18th minute before Perisic netted an equaliser just before the half hour mark.

Griezmann put Les  Blues in the lead again before half time after converting  perfectly from the penalty spot.

Croatia pressed on but a star-crossed performance from them ensured France two additional goals from France courtesy Paul Pogba and Mbappe before Mandzukic took advantage of a mistake from goalkeeper Lloris to earn a consolation.

The following players were honoured after the tournament. And they are as follows:

FIFA Young Player Award
Kylian Mbappe (France)

Adidas Golden Boot Award
Harry Kane (England)

Adidas Golden Glove Award
Thibaut Courtois (Belgium)

Adidas Golden Ball Award
Luka Modric (Croatia)

FIFA Fair Play Trophy

Source: | Sports Desk

Share and Enjoy !

0 0